Ezekiel 43:9

I’ve been reading Ezekiel and was looking at ch 43 today – here’s v9:

Now let them put away their whoring and the dead bodies of their kings far from me, and I will dwell in their midst forever. (Ezekiel 43:9 ESV).

The reality of the situation is we are utterly depraved and wretched. We have disobeyed God and rejected him. And we cannot just put away our sin because no matter how hard we try, we still fail and are still sinful.

But God in his mercy chose to dwell with us in the form of Jesus, and he sent him – his son – into the world as a man to live the perfect life that we couldn’t live. And at Gods timing we murdered Jesus. We killed the son of God. The God-man. But in his glorious grace, that was Gods plan – to take the sin of his people (those he was and is gathering to himself throughout history) and lay it on Jesus. When Jesus died he took the sin of his people as Gods punishment against it so we can be saved. When Jesus died he took my sin, he took Gods wrath against that sin and he clothed me with his perfect righteousness so I can be adopted as a son of God and made one of his people. That came into effect when I became a Christian – when I repented I my sin and put my faith in Jesus as the only one go can save.

Through faith alone our sins are put on Jesus. They are removed. So God can dwell with us. And so we can eternally glorify him like we were created to do. We do that in church, in life and we look forward to when we will do it more fully and perfectly in heaven. That is the gospel. That is Gods overarching plan throughout history.

Isn’t it glorious!

2 thoughts on “Ezekiel 43:9

Leave a Reply

