I don’t understand – and it’s good!

11949856321026402567tasto_9_architetto_franc_01.svg.medI’m reading 1 Corinthians at the moment. And while I can understand the general gist and idea of each passage, there are so many smaller points that I just don’t understand.

But that got me thinking: I actually don’t know as much as I think i do about the bible. I don’t have all the answers. I don’t know all the ins and outs. In fact, I probably don’t know much at all. And realising that was an extremely good wake up call.

I find it so easy to get complacent. To get lazy. To think I’m doing alright because I think I know a fair bit more than most others. And as a result to not try very hard because of it. The thoughts aren’t usually that blatant. They’re usually hidden under a guise of fake humility that can just slip past if I’m not careful to keep them in check.

Therefore, when I’m reminded that I actually don’t know a lot and that there are plenty of things I actually have no idea about, it’s a bit of a slap on the face. A much-needed wake up call that needs to be heeded.

God is infinitely more knowledgable, more powerful, more wise, more awesome, more holy, more just, more righteous, more loving and more perfect than me. I, like Job wasn’t there when he created the universe. I don’t know everything there is to know about the world. I don’t know much at all really. But I’m so inclined to be proud and to think that I actually know a lot. To be the first to spurt out answers when people ask questions. In reality I need to be humble, to realise that even if I can piece an answer together it doesn’t make me better than the other person – and it doesn’t automatically make me right either.

Aside from just humbling me a little, Not understanding is also good because it gives another opportunity to praise God. To realise that  he is far more glorious and knowledgable than I can fathom. It gives  a chance to prayerfully explore new areas (which takes time and effort and can be extremely frustrating – but also quite humbling, helpful and exciting).

I don’t know if you’ve ever had an experience like this – a moment of clarity where one of your obvious failings hits home. But they are good moments.

I don’t know everything. But God does. And that is good. I don’t understand. But God does. And he is good.

After writing this post I read this passage, and although the context is different, it does still ring true: 1 Corinthians 8:1b-3

 We know that “We all possess knowledge.” But knowledge puffs up while love builds up. Those who think they know something do not yet know as they ought to know. But whoever loves God is known by God.

 

Leave a Reply

