LiT 2014 and spending time with God’s people.

Since last Wednesday I’ve been away at a camp called Leaders in Training. To be honest I went a bit sceptical. I wasn’t  really sure what to expect or how good it’d be. But I was pleasantly surprised, and by the end of the week I’d learnt a lot.

The 5 days were spent surrounded by God’s word and professing Christians, a whole heap of whom were extremely enthusiastic about the gospel. And that was a massive challenge to me. We listened to sermons, we discussed them and we were just honest with each other. All these things made the following verse ring true – we have fellowship as we walk in the light and obey God.

If we walk in the light as He Himself is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin. (1 John 1:7)

It was really easy to be passionate about God when I was surrounded by his people. It was easy to strike up conversations about the bible and about our individual struggles. And it was extremely encouraging to have those conversations. The honesty we shared was a breath of air compared to the stuffy culture of superficiality that we live in.

But the truth is, it’s hard to be passionate about God and to be talking about his word with the friends you see every day. It’s hard to discuss your struggles with people who have expectations about who you are already.

Why is that? Why is it so hard to obey God in normal life? 

For me I think it comes down to fear of man. I value my friends very highly, and as a result I often shy away from talking about God with them (even the Christian ones who I should be comfortable talking about the bible with). I reason that it’s a bit awkward, or it might make them uncomfortable. But those reasons are stupid! The most important thing in all my friendships should be Jesus and discussing his word should be a joy (Psalm 119:105).

Spending a week with passionate Christians, talking about God’s word and being honest together was extremely encouraging. I need to be doing those things in my own life – discussing what I’m learning and being honest with those around me. It’ll be tough to make that transition. But it’ll be well worth it, and I’d truly appreciate prayer in trying to make that change.

How about you? How do you go with talking about your faith with those around you? With the Christians near you? How about sharing the gospel with the Non-Christians in your life?

Leave a Reply

